Mykonos Folklore Museum was founded by Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Professor’s Vasilios Kyriazopoulos on May 1958 and is actually an old, two-story, captain’s house of the 18th century!
It is located in the Kastro area of Mykonos town, a few meters distant from the well-known Paraportiani church.
There are six exhibition halls, which are housing collections of antique furniture, Byzantine icons, popular ceramics, historical commemorative plates, prints and gravures, as well as embroidered and hand-woven fabrics, locks and keys, weights and measures, a lovely collection of model boats and other historical artifacts.
The museum also possesses a fine collection of lithographies of 1821 Greek War of Independence and of WWII.
A visit to the Mykonos Folklore Museum gives a fascinating glimpse of Mykonos rich past.
An annex of Mykonos Folklore Museum is the Agricultural Museum – “Boni’s Windmill”, which is situated at the district “Apano Mili” in Mykonos town.
It hosts installations for the processing of agricultural products on the island before industrialization. The main exhibit is the windmill, which dates since 16th century. Also, there are a traditional threshing-floor, a village style oven, a wine-press, a water wheel, a stone water tank, a dovecote, a pigsty, the miller’s house and two little twin chapels.
The Folklore museum is open to visitors from 10:30am to 14:00pm and from 17:30pm to 20:30pm (April – October) every day except Sunday.
The Agricultural museum- “Boni’s Windmill” is open from June till September, between 17:30pm-20:30pm daily except Sunday.
Contact details: Mykonos Folklore Museum: +306946775528 (Mr. Panagiotis Giokas)
Agricultural Museum- “Boni’s Windmill”: +306944201290 (Ms. Marigoula Apostolou)